Week 10

Week 10 began on a Wednesday when I arrived home from Stockholm at noon. I did some chores around Princes St and stocked up on groceries. In the afternoon I met up with Mike, and in the evening I went to knitting night! A group of my friends and I have declared Wednesday knitting night, so Emma, Charlotte, and I went to Connor’s where we made dinner and learned how to knit. In a couple weeks time I may even teach them how to crochet. It was good fun to see everyone so soon after getting back in the country.

Thursday was Thanksgiving! But it also meant lots of class. In the morning I went to school (yes, I still go to school :p), and then picked up a couple more items from the store that I needed for a specific recipe. The afternoon consisted of listening to music and baking, a wonderful, and appropriate, way to spend the day. While cooking, I also turned on the University of British Columbia’s graduation ceremony, because my brother was graduating! Congrats, Sawyer! It was surreal being in Scotland, while watching my brother in Canada graduate, while cooking for American Thanksgiving, and emailing my mom- who, coincidentally, was baking the exact same dish as me at the same time. Mike stopped by and helped me carry the pipping hot dishes to Sheila’s flat, where we arranged to have a pot luck dinner. I made corn pudding and apple-cranberry bake, and they were both big hits (not surprisingly if you’ve ever had it!). I counted twenty people at the dinner, and everyone brought lots of food, so it was a proper Thanksgiving meal… We even went around in a circle before eating and said what we were thankful for. I thought it was really cool that we weren’t just Americans; in fact, I think we might have been outnumbered! There were also lots of Canadians, Germans, Swedish, Russian, Australian, and British people, most of whom had never before celebrated Thanksgiving. I think by the end of it, they all appreciated this holiday very much lol.

On Friday, I don’t normally have class, but I had a rescheduled class from a previous time, so I went to Poetry lecture, then came home and Skyped my best friend Sarah for a very long time. It was great to see her and catch up on what’s going on in our lives and back at Queen’s. I was feeling lazy that day, so I watched a movie and then went out to Filip’s flat to meet people and hang out for a while. They eventually departed for the clubs, so I parted ways in favour of sleep, since I still hadn’t properly caught up from being in Stockholm.

On Saturday I woke up one minute before my alarm…. at 12:29pm. I got ready and met Sheila, and we went for a guided tour of Scottish Parliament. It was really intriguing and educational to walk around the building and learn what goes on there, why it looks like it does, and many other tidbits. We then walked up to Holyrood Palace, which is where the Queen stays when she’s here in Edinburgh. We meandered around, and I, unfortunately, don’t have pictures for you because it was raining, so I was protecting my camera. After our adventures, I went to my friend Jake’s house, and we watched The Deathly Hallows, pt 1. Jake just finished reading all the Harry Potter books for the first time, a fantastic accomplishment in my opinion. After the movie, we made stirfry for dinner, and I came home and made my Sweden blog.

Overall, it was a good, but pretty crazy week, as they all seem to be. I can’t believe classes are almost finished, and first semester is coming to a close! Time has gone way too fast, and I’m so thankful to have another semester here.

About savannahverity

"It's a dangerous business, Frodo, going out of your door," he used to say. "You step into the Road, and if you don't keep your feet, there is no knowing where you might be swept off to." ~ The Fellowship of the Ring
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment