Loch Lomond

I went on another adventure today! Have you ever heard this old folk song?

“Oh, ye’ll tak’ the high road, and I’ll tak’ the low road,
And I’ll be in Scotland afore ye;
But me and my true love will never meet again
On the bonnie, bonnie banks o’ Loch Lomond.”

Well, today I travelled to this famous Scottish loch, and it was beautiful! It’s actually the largest loch in GB and contains the largest fresh water island in the British Isles. Additionally, Loch Lomond is one of Scotland’s premier boating and watersports venues.

Upon arrival, we set off to hike around the lake. It was a really sunny day, but a little chilly as well. While walking, I was reminded of Radnor Lake back home, and got a tad nostalgic. That went away pretty quickly once we kept exploring this beautiful lake and the city of Balloch. Sadly, we did not set eyes on the Loch Lomond monster, which allegedly drowns its victims and eats them under the water. I kept a close watch on the water so as to not become its latest victim.

The pathway was not always clearly marked, and we wound up marching through some muddy areas. My poor Toms got soaking wet and muddy, but they survived the day!

Our walk led us to Balloch Castle, which has foundations that date back to 1238. It’s surrounded by walled gardens and related ancient ruins, and was so beautiful as well!

The three of us then went to a local restaurant called Corrie’s for lunch. I love how a girl from France, a girl from Scotland, and a girl from America/Canada can become fast friends and enjoy a lovely day together 🙂

About savannahverity

"It's a dangerous business, Frodo, going out of your door," he used to say. "You step into the Road, and if you don't keep your feet, there is no knowing where you might be swept off to." ~ The Fellowship of the Ring
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment